Background

Climate change is the biggest challenge of our time and only together can we survive it. Much is discussed about this topic, but relatively little is done. Strict political guidelines fail because of the hesitancy of the politicians and because of their lobbyists. Many companies are reluctant to invest more in climate-friendly technology. They say that the price pressure is too high and environmental protection is too expensive!

 

"We are the first generation to feel the effects of climate change and the last generation who can do something about it." (US President Barack Obama in 2015)

 

We should start now!


Project

Since 2008, we have been pursuing two goals with our projects. With our extreme water sports projects we want to show the possibilities of climate-friendly technologies and clarify that it is often a matter of will and not of skill when we try to achieve goals - on board and on climate protection.

 

In recent years it has also become apparent that there is a great need for advice on the subject of environmental and climate protection in companies, associations, schools and other initiatives. In presentations, Michael Walther will show climate-friendly options for action or give concrete advice to companies on which steps can be taken to increase environmental protection.


Ocean Campus

Spending time outdoors in nature has shaped all water sports enthusiasts of the Zero Emissions Project. This is exactly what we would like to pass on. The next goal is to get young people away from their smartphones and out onto the water. We are convinced that we can only increase interest in environmental protection if there is a connection to nature. As long as we are only in cities and virtual worlds, nothing fundamental will change in our dealings with the environment. 

 

Together with the Christian-Albrechts University of Kiel, the IQSH, the Andreas-Gayk School, the One Earth One Ocean Association and many other supporters, we are working on developing the school water sports centre on the Kiel Ostufer into a centre for water sports and climate and environmental protection. 

 

Already in the winter half of 2019/2020, Michael Walther will give lectures on climate change at various schools and combine this with a sporty stand-up paddle unit. The aim is to convey enthusiasm: water sports and climate protection!

Hintergrund

Der Klimawandel ist die größte Herausforderung unserer Zeit und nur gemeinsam können wir diese bestehen. Strenge politische Vorgaben scheitern an den verschiedenen Lobbyisten und viele Unternehmen zögern, mehr in klimafreundliche Technologie zu investieren. 

 

"Wir sind die erste Generation die die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels bereits zu spüren bekommt und die letzte, die etwas dagegen unternehmen kann." So äußerte sich US Präsident Barack Obama 2015.

 

Wir sollten jetzt damit beginnen!

 


Projekte

Seit 2008 verfolgen wir mit unseren Projekten zwei Ziele. Wir möchten mit unseren extremen Aktionen die Möglichkeiten klimafreundlicher Technologien verdeutlichen und zeigen, dass es häufig eine Frage des Wollens und nicht des Könnens ist, wenn es um das Erreichen von Zielen geht - an Bord und beim Klimaschutz. 

 

In den vergangenen Jahren hat sich darüberhinaus gezeigt, dass ein großer Bedarf an Beratung zum Thema Umwelt- und Klimaschutz in Unternehmen, Vereinen, Schulen und weiteren Initiativen besteht. Bei Vorträgen zeigt Michael Walther klimafreundliche Handlungsoptionen auf oder berät konkret in den Unternehmen, welche Schritte für mehr Umweltschutz sinnvoll durchführbar sind.

 

 

 

 


Ocean Campus

 

Emissionsfrei Zeit in der Natur zu verbringen hat alle Wassersportler des Zero Emissions Projektes geprägt. Genau das möchten wir nun auch weitergeben. Jugendliche weg vom Smartphone und raus auf's Wasser zu holen, ist das nächste Ziel. Wir sind der Überzeugung, dass wir das Interesse am Umweltschutz nur dann steigern können, wenn ein Bezug zur Natur besteht. Solange wir uns nur in Städten und virtuellen Welten aufhalten, wird sich an unserem Umgang mit der Umwelt nichts Grundlegendes ändern. 

 

Zusammen mit der Christian-Albrechts Universität zu Kiel, dem IQSH, der Andreas-Gayk Schule, dem Verein One Earth One Ocean und vielen weiteren Unterstützern arbeiten wir daran, das Schulwassersportzentrum auf dem Kieler Ostufer zu einem Zentrum für Wassersport und Klima- und Umweltschutz zu entwickeln. 

 

Schon im Winterhalbjahr 2019/2020 wird Michael Walther an verschiedenen Schulen Vorträge über den Klimawandel halten und dies mit einer sportlichen Stand-up-Paddle Einheit kombinieren. Begeisterung vermitteln ist das Ziel: Am Wassersport und am Klimaschutz!